Monday, March 9, 2009

Don’t Be ‘Yes-Men’, Ali Tells Councillors

REAPPOINTED: Bayoi (left) receives a plaque from Ali.

Newly appointed Samarahan District Councillors were yesterday told not to be ‘yes-men’.

“Do not practise a ‘yes-man’ attitude but instead you must voice out your opinion for the sake of the people,” said Muara Tuang assemblyman Dato Sri Mohd Ali Mahmud during the swearing-in ceremony for the new councillors.

Ali, who was representing Deputy Tourism Minister and Kota Samarahan Member of Parliament Dato Sri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Taib, also told the councillors to act as team and share knowledge with each other.

“The new faces and the old ones must work together to be the eyes and ears of the people. Listen to what the people have to say and work out the solutions together,” said Ali.

He said those who were not reappointed as councillors can still contribute and serve the people and the government in other ways.

“For those who were not reappointed, do not be disappointed. The reason for that is the newly appointed have both academic achievements and experience,” he said.

Ali added that while there is plenty more to be done, the council has done a lot over the years.

“The council, under the present government has achieved a lot especially in development and the people’s well-being,” said Ali.

He advised the people to be cautious of the tactics and tricks of the opposition to influence them.

“The opposition always makes wild accusations to blind the people, just to fish for votes. Their propaganda has always been about saying something and then doing something else.

“The government has given much development to the people and have a proven track record,” said Ali.

Twenty-six councillors, led by Kedup assemblyman Frederick Bayoi Manggi – who was re-appointed as Walikota Samarahan – were sworn in yesterday.

Eighteen are newly appointed councillors.

The Samarahan District councillors are Bayoi (chairman), assistant chairperson Maznah Mail and council members Jamayah Adeni, Zol Nono, Sepawi Samat, Benking Dakak, Belland Kantul, Edward Minggu, Liu Teck Kong, Dr Chew Kian Peng, Chin Vui Khun, Antan Kamis, Bostari Brahim, Daily Joseph, Awg Saperi Awg Lee, Bakar Suut, Semawi Sulong, Boniface Nyiek Mawin, Lawrence Juh Kar, Sandi Bael, Thomas Ong, Brandah Madi, Jackson Melintang Budit, Bujang Dillah, as well as Tegak Mat.

Also present at the ceremony was Asajaya assemblyman Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah, who is chief political secretary to the Chief Minister.



blogger templates | Make Money Online